Bad Kid: A Memoir

23131101

I first found out about David Crabb a few weeks ago when I was listening to one of my favourite podcasts, The Moth. On it, he told the story of growing up gay and goth in Texas and the heart-wrenching story of one of his friends he hung out with and got him through those angsty teen years. At the end of the story, the announcer plugged his book Bad Kid, and I knew I just had to pick it up. I’m so glad I did!

There are even more stories in this memoir of his that didn’t get told on stage at The Moth, so what a wonderful read it turned out to be. I definitely related to many of the feelings that Crabb describes, of being closeted, feeling like an outsider, getting picked on. The music that he describes listening to throughout those years were the same artists and bands I listened to, from Madonna and Kylie to the Pet Shop Boys and New Order.

Through his down-to-earth tone and easy-to-read prose, Crabb’s memoir moved me so much that I felt the need to find his website and email him directly just to say thank you for sharing your stories.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

