Green Grass, Running Water

6a00e5509ea6a18834016766c9c844970b-800wi

This was the first book I read by First Nations/Aboriginal/Native Canadian writer Thomas King, in a First Nations literature class I took in university back in the late 90s! It’s been one of my favourites in terms of First Nations literature to this day, aside from the books by Joseph Boyden now. As well, King has written an insurmountable amount of books since this one, including the critically acclaimed non-fiction The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America, but I remember Green Grass, Running Water really resonating with its humour and dialogue and commentary on Native issues.

King has both American and Canadian citizenship, so I’m going to classify him as Canadian as he has been living here since 1980. I have yet to read his latest book, The Back of the Turtle, which I hope to get to soon!

 

Leave a Reply

