I’ll Give You The Sun

sun_375w

If you are a young gay boy, or if you ever were a young gay boy, then you need to read this amazing YA novel. Even if you’re NOT and never were a young gay boy, read this book anyway. It’s brilliant. It’s poetic. It’ll break your heart and sew it right back up again only to rip it right out of you. I adored this book. It was a beautiful amazing reading experience.

The story revolves around a pair of twins, Jude and Noah. Together, this sister/brother team battle the throes of adolescence with art and their own unique perspectives on life and love. I don’t want to say anything more about the plot; you will just have to read this for yourself to find out how wonderful it is. At one point, I literally had to put the book away because I was reading it on the bus and desperately trying to hold back tears, because I just wanted to cry at the sheer beauty of the writing.

Among many other accolades, Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You The Sun is: Winner of the 2015 Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature and a 2015 Stonewall Honor Book.

 

 

 

One thought on “I’ll Give You The Sun

Leave a Reply

