Going Down

img_7360

To be perfectly honest, the only reason I know about this book is because of Madonna. She mentioned it years ago and I believe even bought the rights to it. So as a huge Madonna fan at one point, I wondered what all the fuss was about and have finally managed to get my hands on it to read.

At first, I felt like this was a female version of Catcher in the Rye. Blasphemy, I know. But the tone of it really reminded me of Salinger’s classic. It’s the story of a young woman who lives in New York City and decides to become a sex trade worker. This is when I started feeling a bit icky. It felt almost like the character decided to enter into this profession on a whim, as opposed to a need? I don’t know. I just wasn’t feeling like the character or the book was very authentic.

Try it out if you like, but if you want something a bit more real, I would suggest Amber Dawn’s How Poetry Saved My Life.

Leave a Reply

