We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families

wish-to-inform

This is another title recommended and listed through the Amnesty International Book Club, and aims to highlight the atrocities of the genocide that took place in Rwanda of the Tutsi people by the Hutus. My only knowledge of this was through the movie Hotel Rwanda, and I thought this book would give me more insight into the conflict. It did do that for the most part, delving into the history of the region and how the two groups became opposing forces.

Interviews with survivors and witnesses were chilling to read. The political aspects and research-type language bogged the book down for me, making me not want to finish it. Kind of like reading a thorough newspaper or magazine piece that I just didn’t have the patience to sit through. Perhaps not the best choice for a summer read for me, but an important one nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

