Shrill: Notes From a Loud Woman

29340182

I enjoyed this book through and through. Not only is it hilarious and well written, but it forced me to think about things such as feminism and fatphobia. Lindy West is a writer for Jezebel and I had no idea who she was before, or at least I didn’t think I did. Turns out, I had heard two different podcasts that featured stories from her life. One included her experience working for Seattle’s The Stranger newspaper and calling out Dan Savage for being fatphobic. The other podcast I had heard her speak on was regarding confronting an Internet troll (of which she’s had many).

This was an easy but poignant and important read. I would definitely recommend it to anyone I know!


Yes – Shrill! I’d been wanting to read it for a while because my favorite blogger hyped it. But, I am embarrassed to admit, my library doesn’t actually own a copy (don’t worry – purchase request submitted). I finally ended up getting the ebook from another library system.

Right before reading this book, I’d read two essays collections and a memoir that were written by smart, funny women but I didn’t like them. Then our friend Molly said she couldn’t get into. So all of that had me a little worried. But turns out all that worrying was for nothing because I really liked it! Lindy West is very funny and has such a strong voice. Highly recommended from me, too.

Leave a Reply

