RAD Books from ALA

Back in June, we took a little trip to Orlando to a magical fantasy world… the American Library Association Annual Conference. Don’t worry, we made it to Harry Potter World, too. But ALA!! Holy smokes… the books! the tote bags! the food! the books! the authors! Well, despite my best efforts, I came home with over 40 books (I left about 30 in my hotel room). It’s been over five months, and I still haven’t gotten to many of the titles that I was so excited to feature on this blog. So here’s the next best thing: a RAD book list!

Never Look an American in the Eye by Okey Ndibe
Speak Now: Marriage Equality on Trial by Kenji Yoshino
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
The Striver’s Row Spy by Jason Overstreet
IQ by Joe Ide*
Delicious Foods by James Hannaham
Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue
As Brave As You by Jason Reynolds
The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui
You Can’t Touch My Hair and Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson
Darktown by Thomas Mullen*

*television series in development

Can you vouch for the RADness of any of these books?

Leave a Reply

