The Sun is Also a Star

28763485

Hey Appleberry,

Thanks for your recommendation for this one! I just finished Nicola Yoon’s The Sun is Also a Star and quite enjoyed it. I felt like it was the YA version of those Before Sunrise movies, except with a Black girl and a Korean boy! I did have to suspend my disbelief for a bit since the entire premise of falling in love takes place within a day, but then maybe that’s because I am now a bitter and jaded singleton who no longer believes in love at first sight. But once upon a time I did, and that part of me still lingers somewhere in my cold deadened heart, and so I suppose looking at it through that lens, this was a pretty romantic kind of story. It’s on the Swoon-Worthy booklist I made for work, at least.

Best,
Alan

Leave a Reply

