The House on Mango Street

ALAN!

How are you reading so many books so fast?? Our ratio is really off balance. I watch too much television.

Last week* I read The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros and I feel like kind of a chump because it’s one of those books that I should have read ages ago. I don’t know what happened but I guess it was never assigned in any of my english classes? Anyway, I finally read it, and of course it’s so good.

One nice thing is that the chapter are short little things and essentially stand alone so you can pick it up and put it down and not get lost. But it also reads really fast so you could easily finish it in one go. It’s a coming-of-age story told from the perspective of an observant young girl whose family moves into a new house, on Mango Street – go figure. Sandra Cisneros is a poet and it’s beautifully, economically written. Super RAD!

Adios,
apple

*ugh I started the draft of this post 13 days ago! What is wrong with me?!?!

Leave a Reply

